"Wasteland is harsh"
Home Forum Help Login Register
  • June 26, 2024, 02:37:07 am
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Play WikiBoy BugTracker Developer's blog
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: A Few Newbie Questions  (Read 2562 times)

John Hancock

• Yippie Ki Yay!
A Few Newbie Questions
« on: July 30, 2010, 08:42:56 pm »

Hello! I just started playing FOnline: 2238 yesterday. I've been playing the original Fallout games regularly since 1997-1998.

After reading the manual, the wiki and some of the guides and threads here on the forum, I accomplished more than I thought I would — got my first tent set up; learned to mine and craft; stockpiled some armor, guns, ammunition and other items; learned Gunsmith (Small Guns) 1; did a few quests; have 1,000 caps left in the bank; reached character level 6; and a few other things besides. The game seems pretty hardcore, but it's not too difficult to start scratching out a living.

I got PKed once early on, and was robbed pretty badly not too long ago, but hey, other people got to make a living too. Anyway, the name of the game here is clearly getting caps, since guns and ammo are fairly easy to make on your own. Looks to me like the merchants fill up on caps every now and then, and are promptly cleaned out by anyone and everyone.

Question #1: How can I maximize my chances of finding merchants with caps? Do I just need to get lucky? Or is there a schedule/strategy I can use?
Question #2: If I want to sell things to other players (cheap ammunition for example), what's the safest way to go about doing that? I'm leery of getting robbed or killed while sealing the deal.
Question #3: Are there public radio channels people tend to use a lot? Or does all-public chat pretty much go into IRC?