"Wasteland is harsh"
Home Forum Help Login Register
  • September 29, 2024, 12:14:56 am
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Play WikiBoy BugTracker Developer's blog
Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Primitive -> Rudimentary/Improvised  (Read 5440 times)

Eternauta

• Beyond repair.
    • Crazy 88 Official Forum
Primitive -> Rudimentary/Improvised
« on: February 25, 2013, 05:27:55 am »

So I've had this in my mind since I started playing 2238, and now that with the recent tent rework you can even add a "primitive workbench" to your tent, I guess I can just post about it.

Why not change the word primitive and use rudimentary or improvised instead? Of course I understand the intention is to use primitive with the meaning of rudimentary, but the word primitive has also some other different meanings, leftovers of the 19th century ideology of European superiority over basically all, every and any culture that was not European.

My exact point is: the word primitive does not just mean "rudimentary", it usually has a negative value as well. The word primitive, used to describe an improvised tool you make with flint, even sounds weird for me in the context of the Fallout world, where many people tend to discriminate tribals, seeing them exactly as "primitive" (with a meaning close to what I mentioned in the paragraph above). In the Fallout world, a guy who survives in the wastes and does not come from one of the tribal societies, would probably not call his improvised tool "primitive", because "primitive" is what tribals are, but not him, or the tool he just made.

[Edit]