fodev.net

FOnline Development => General Discussion => Topic started by: Jimmy BoyX on June 22, 2012, 01:38:02 pm

Title: Size map
Post by: Jimmy BoyX on June 22, 2012, 01:38:02 pm
How can I make size map or make maps smaller, resize it without lost all maps.
Title: Re: Size map
Post by: Skycast on June 22, 2012, 02:36:18 pm
If you mean worldMAP
You need to change map pic first, put new map pic in client\data\art\interface\yourmap.png, changew name of map in \data\art\interface\default.ini
if you are using one big picture:
GmapTilesPic          = yourmap.png    #
GmapTilesX            = 1                   # Number of pics width
GmapTilesY            = 1                   # Number of pics height

in config.fos:
  __GlobalMapWidth            =  28;// Number of squares
  __GlobalMapHeight           = 30; // Number of squares
 __GlobalMapZoneLength       = 50; // sqares widht and height in px
worldmap.fos:
#define ZONE_COUNT_X                           (28)
#define ZONE_COUNT_Y                           (30)
#define ZONE_LENGTH                             (50)
at the end of this file you must find line
LoadImage( IMAGE_RELIEF, "relief_tla.png", 1, PT_SERVER_MAPS );
it means relief file - Server\maps\relief_tla.png

Then change coordinates of towns:
 Server\maps\GenerateWorld.cfg

If you mean townmaps just use MApper and edit maps*)
Title: Re: Size map
Post by: Jimmy BoyX on June 22, 2012, 02:42:55 pm
I mean normal locations maps.
Title: Re: Size map
Post by: Skycast on June 22, 2012, 02:49:39 pm
So open maps in mapper and cut them, what a problem?
Title: Re: Size map
Post by: JovankaB on June 22, 2012, 02:55:45 pm
Mapper has special commands that start with *
Press enter to enable input and type *size <width> <height>, for example:
*size 20 20

Check out ReadMe.txt for more, as usually in case of SDK it's in Russian.
Title: Re: Size map
Post by: Jimmy BoyX on June 22, 2012, 03:34:38 pm
I know, know but I dont know how big is map and dont see any "end of map when I is block". The problem is because I make map use 500x500 but I want to cut it because there are so many free places.
Title: Re: Size map
Post by: Skycast on June 22, 2012, 03:46:56 pm
I know, know but I dont know how big is map and dont see any "end of map when I is block". The problem is because I make map use 500x500 but I want to cut it because there are so many free places.
For this you can use show/hide hex squares - F10 then slowly cut map.
Title: Re: Size map
Post by: Jimmy BoyX on June 22, 2012, 07:35:56 pm
I have the problems cut map because when I use command size it cut my map scenery and elements. Here is small pic what my map is http://i48.tinypic.com/d6wbm.png

I wanna something like it:
1.RED is map's hexs
2.BLACK is my maps
3.GREEN is blocker hexs for view (white hexs block called s)
4.BLUE is what I want to have size of my map.

How to make that? I think all maps must be square because in game your screen can get block or bugged. So how to fix that problem?
Title: Re: Size map
Post by: Skycast on June 22, 2012, 07:43:58 pm
4.BLUE is what I want to have size of my map.
You cant do this.
Title: Re: Size map
Post by: Jimmy BoyX on June 22, 2012, 07:58:40 pm
So bad :(
Title: Re: Size map
Post by: codave on June 22, 2012, 10:21:21 pm
It's isometric.

How did you think that was possible?
Title: Re: Size map
Post by: Skycast on June 22, 2012, 11:25:26 pm
By street magic!
Actually he can change game geometry in config.fos and redraw all maps *)))
Title: Re: Size map
Post by: Jimmy BoyX on June 23, 2012, 09:20:36 am
But tiles can look like square, open any old maps from fallout and you will see how they made.

And isometric, bla bla bla orly? Lol I know that is but maybe is way to make maps good optimize.
Title: Re: Size map
Post by: JovankaB on June 23, 2012, 09:28:43 am
But tiles can look like square, open any old maps from fallout and you will see how they made.

And isometric, bla bla bla orly? Lol I know that is but maybe is way to make maps good optimize.

Enable grid (F10) in arroyo_bridge for example, and you will see that none of them are "square".

If you think it would be good for optimization, it's a question to the engine developers -> http://fonline.ru/forum/

But I think you are wrong about this, and it would just complicate things, because the maps
ARE in fact rectangular already, if you take isometric perspective into account.

Just ignore the corners if you don't need them.
Title: Re: Size map
Post by: Jimmy BoyX on June 23, 2012, 10:14:10 am
But when my map is, example 250x250 and workspace is 500x500 engine load this workspace too? Or only my map 250x250 when are elements, scener, tiles, critters?
Title: Re: Size map
Post by: JovankaB on June 23, 2012, 12:05:48 pm
But when my map is, example 250x250 and workspace is 500x500 engine load this workspace too? Or only my map 250x250 when are elements, scener, tiles, critters?

Only core developers know how it's handled by server and client. FOnline engine isn't open source.
If you want to contact core devs you should use http://fonline.ru/

By yourself you can do a simple test: make the same map with very large and very small unused
workspace and see if there is any difference. Then you will know. I suppose size of workspace
doesn't matter much, if at all, but I might be wrong.
Title: Re: Size map
Post by: Lexx on June 23, 2012, 12:23:58 pm
Yes, the free spaces remain and they add up to the used memory of a map. It becomes worse the bigger a map is- but then again, big maps aren't very performant anyway. I talked about this issue with Cvet some years ago, he considered this for future optimization, but it doesn't have a very high place on a "stuff to do"-list (and I doubt that it's easy to do).
Title: Re: Size map
Post by: Skycast on June 23, 2012, 01:49:57 pm
But tiles can look like square, open any old maps from fallout and you will see how they made.

And isometric, bla bla bla orly? Lol I know that is but maybe is way to make maps good optimize.
Better optimize scripts.
Title: Re: Size map
Post by: Jimmy BoyX on June 28, 2012, 08:36:00 pm
Yes, the free spaces remain and they add up to the used memory of a map. It becomes worse the bigger a map is- but then again, big maps aren't very performant anyway. I talked about this issue with Cvet some years ago, he considered this for future optimization, but it doesn't have a very high place on a "stuff to do"-list (and I doubt that it's easy to do).

Where can I read "to do" Cvet?
Title: Re: Size map
Post by: Lexx on June 28, 2012, 08:45:59 pm
I didn't mean to imply that it is on a real existing to do list. Just meaned that it most likely has a very low priority.