fodev.net
FOnline Development => General Discussion => Topic started by: raynor009 on December 26, 2010, 11:31:40 pm
-
Hello, and welcome to my basic FOnline SDK installation tutorial. If you're new to the FOnline SDK I suggest that you don't skip any parts of this tutorial as I don't want you to ask questions about things that I already explained.
Tools Needed
Notepad++ (http://notepad-plus-plus.org/download/)
TortoiseSVN (http://tortoisesvn.net/downloads.html)
And again a BRAIN (http://www.ipmc.cnrs.fr/~duprat/neurophysiology/images/brain2.jpg)(funny me.. ::))
Step 1 Downloading server with Turtoise SVN:
1.Make a new folder on your Desktop or anywhere on your disk, doesn't matter where, and call it SERVER or whatever you want.
2.Right click on the folder you created and then click on SVN Checkout.Then a window should pop up.
3.In the URL of repository insert the URL provided bellow.
http://xp-dev.com/svn/fonline_sdk/
4.In the Checkout directory you select the folder you created earlier.
5.Click Ok and another window will pop up, this means the server files are now downloading.
Preparing the Server:
I assume the download has finished if you are reading this step.
1.Go into the folder called Server.
2.Open FOnlineServer.cfg with Wordpad or Notepad ++.
3.In the line Port=4000 change it your desired port or leave it as it is.
example
# Listening port
Port=2100
Setting up admin passwords:
1.In the same file FOnlineServer.cfg at the very bottom look for the lines I posted bellow:
# Keys for accesses
# Aviable four access mode: client (default on login), tester, moder, admin
Access_client=000000 00000000
Access_tester=
Access_moder=
Access_admin=
And create a password for each access class.
Example:
# Keys for accesses
# Aviable four access mode: client (default on login), tester, moder, admin
Access_client=000000 00000000
Access_tester=abuse1
Access_moder=abuse2
Access_admin=abuse3
2.Now start your server, register an account and log in.
Open up the message box and type in the following:
~getaccess admin abuse3(the password you set earlier)
You will receive a confirmation that you access has changed in the log box.
Questions and answers:
Q:Why can't my friends can't connect to my server?
A:You need to forward the server port in your router if you have one or if you have a dynamic IP you need to create a DNS address at no-ip.org
and give that to people who want to connect.
Q:How do I spawn items or change my stats?
A:You can do this with the following commands:
Skills
~param 0 200 300 - You get 300 to Small Guns change to 201 to get for Big guns and so on.
Specials
~param 0 0 3000 - From 0 to 6 you get can change your specials like ~param 0 6 3000 adds 3000 to luck
Other Commands
~param 0 72 xxx - Heal yourself
~additemself 349 1 - First value is the code of the item and the second is the number.You can find more item codes in Server/data/ItemsNames.ist open it with Notepad++ in front of each item is the code.
Second part of the tutorial can be found here. (http://fodev.net/forum/index.php/topic,12249.0.html)
-
Nice tutorial ;) I agree the brain is very important and Notepad++ is very useful too.
But I think this should be in offtopic, because it's not FOnline 2238 related.
-
Thank you.
Got damn my fingers hurt.
-
Great tutorial dude! Try to add some other info and commands for server , like how to use ~runscript (test) SetType X Y Z
-
Good (and only one tutorial..?)
Explain much to install server, but you should put more commands.
-
Many thanks for this, and congrats for your endeavor it will be of good use for uninitiated as myself. I'm going to try this later.
-
The name you just added must be the exact name you will register outherwise it will not work.
It will. You are adding password to config file, not name of admin/moder/whatever. There is no username check, everyone can use specified pass.
-
If you did not notice the list of commands is in a link .Just click there on read through the replies.
I beg the admins if they can correct any spielling errors i made.
-
Good (and only one tutorial..?)
Explain much to install server, but you should put more commands.
SPECIAL:
~param 0 [0-6] x - change your SPECIAL stats, ~param 0 0 10 - 10 ST
SKILLS:
~param 0 [200-217] % - change your skills, ~param 0 200 100 - 100% SG
PERKS:
~param 0 [300-439] x - add perks, x is number of perks, ~param 0 322 1 - 1x better criticals
OTHER STATS:
~param 0 [number] x
You can find all param commands in SDK/Server/Scripts/_defines
OTHER COMMANDS:
~drop - you can log other account without 10 minutes relog
~regenmap - regeneration map
~toglobal - teleport to world map
~respawn ID - respawn, your ID is 0
~regenmap - regeneration map
~addnpc hx hy dir pid - add npc
~addloc coords pid - add location on world map
(...)
All commands are SDK/Docs/FOnlineRu
-
Comming soon tutorial on how ot customize the server more.
-
pic on The Server of The Gods(raynor's test and probably best's server)
(http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/2845/screen27122010194507.jpg)
we where assaulting Navaro
in our server every one is a GM, but the critters respawn every minute
if you whant to join, add raynor on skype:"raynor009"(so you can gain basic tutorials on how to use your powers)
note:the server will be online only if raynor is online
note to raynor: sory if i did something i didn't have to, but we need more people on our server, not only the 5 of us
other note: you can use the 3D skin or a 2D LJ skin from start(i think the 2D restarts after a death, but idk)
how to? easy!!!
at start be4 you talk with the black guy(forgot name) activate your god powers and tipe ~toglobal and go str8 where ever you whant with a 2D skin(if you whant the vault oufit, we have some)else go trouth the doors and str8 to the elevator, and have a 3D skin
-
Video tutorial made.For those who are lazy to read.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5aSUx6-4R9o&feature=player_embedded
-
when I Host the Server theres a Pretty Big problem, The Server loads properly but when I Connect on the Client,
The Login/Register Screen is just Black! I Cant even see the login/register buttons.
What could the problem be?
-
Okay everybody, please help me out soon. When ever I start up the game my screen is completely black and all I can see is the Fallout cursor. Does anybody have a suggestion for a solution? ???
-
I Figured Out how to Fix the black Screen.
You Just Copy the "default.cache" From youre Actuall FOnline 2238 Data Folder, and copy it over to the SDK's Client Data.
That worked for me, Now Im just getting Startup script Error :(
-
It seems some problem from the SDK revision.You shoul try asking on IRC #fodev they can help you more than i do.If you fix problems post here or send message so i can update topic.
-
RESOLVED,
When you Do ZipPatch You will get a Zip File, Inside that is Everything You need. you Drag all of that Inside youre Clients Data Folder.
IT SHOULD WORK :)
-
Or try using teh stable version.
Go ur SDK folder find Stable/FOnline_v1_020910.rar unrar and setup server with that.
-
FOServer::processes - connection timeout, client kicked, maybe bot How do I solve this problem.Help me with this because I'm sitting on this week without any effect. Help send e-maill cronics@interia.pl
-
I'm banned with that account.Can't help you :-*
-
FOServer::processes - connection timeout, client kicked, maybe bot How do I solve this problem.Help me with this because I'm sitting on this week without any effect. Help send e-maill cronics@interia.pl
Im also having this problem, been working on it for a while and still not able to find a solution. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
-
We had the same problem some time ago. And if I remember correctly it was caused by using incompatible version of the client.
-
So what would be the correct version to use? Presently Im using a version that has been pached completely.
-
I'd try using version from the same revision of the SDK as is your server.
-
I'm going to make a new server tutorial just check my youtube channel later on tonight.
-
Ive fixed it by copying the zip files over the client data files. Apparently I was supposed to do that to begin with and because of my ignorance I failed to do so. Thanks for the assistance.
-
The tutorials here are outdated and unless I'm not going to get my old account unbanned updating them its not going to happen :)
-
Is there a way to set the server to be a "clone" of 2238? What ive got now encompasses only the fallout 2 map.
-
Is there a way to set the server to be a "clone" of 2238? What ive got now encompasses only the fallout 2 map.
Unlike TLA, 2238 is not open source.
-
The tutorials here are outdated and unless I'm not going to get my old account unbanned updating them its not going to happen :)
Here is actuall tutorial about intalation sdk: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DrWNJ6Tte68
-
Is there a way to set the server to be a "clone" of 2238? What ive got now encompasses only the fallout 2 map.
Yes there is a way.But you must get maps from both games and take them through all mapper versions.There have been a number of questions about this.Using SEARCH button is not prohibited you know?
-
Yeah, Ive done that but there dosnt seem to be a clear topic on the subject. But thanks anyway for the advice.
-
Unlike TLA, 2238 is not open source.
Why? To prevent cheating?
-
Prevent to make every game like 2238.
-
Hey look i don't want to look stupid but is it just me or when I try to download the SDk (using turtoise) it asks me for user and pass , obviously I don't know either of them , has the sdk been closed or something? i want to study programming and I like the subject and I honestly think that this would be a great start BUT i can't get the sdk , do you know about it? At fonline.ru they actively speak about the sdk and tools and stuff but I can't download it , its frustrating! if you can help me please do!
-
Don't know why it's in svn form.. a zip or rar would have been at the same effect. :S
-
Don't know why it's in svn form.. a zip or rar would have been at the same effect. :S
I think it's faster to give updates with svn (correct if i'm wrong)
With .zip files or .rar you need upload that file everytime again, but with svn you just add new files to svn direction and everyone got them.
-
I don't want to gravedig SDK question thread so I ask here.
I edited fonline_tla.cpp file, what do I need to do for changes to take effect?
I guess I should recompile it, but how? (I mean, what libraries to link, if I need to use specific compiler etc.) It just throws bunch of errors now.
-
Use make_tla.bat to compile it. Change paths if necessary. You can use VS2008 or VS2010, for example.
-
Thanks, I'll try that.
-
I need help, how do I move from 1 location to another?
Not in the same map ofcourse...
For example, if I'm in a default location I want to move to the location I created with SDK mapper...
-
~run debug tele 0 [location pid] [map index]
~run debug ToMapEntire [map pid] [entire] 0
-
If anyone here makes a server, I'm looking for a server to move to in my spare time and I'm willing to help test features and do other work/etc.
I just need to take a break from Fonline 2238 every once in a while.
-
is it possible to add Fallout1 area or replace it?
-
Of course it is possible. You can use whatever area you want to.
-
Of course it is possible. You can use whatever area you want to.
Yes, like lexx said.
And you can also create your own maps with the mapper and easily add them to your server.
-
Yes, like lexx said.
And you can also create your own maps with the mapper and easily add them to your server.
so i just need to [(Fallout1Maps in the folder and set the part in the server?], right?
-
so i just need to [(Fallout1Maps in the folder and set the part in the server?], right?
You have to put the fallout map in the "maps" folder located within the map called "server".
Then edit the CFG file "locations" in the "maps" folder and provide the information and ID you want your
map to have.
If you want to generate it on the world map you have to edit the file "GenerateWorld" with the right information.
Remember to delete all the saves in the "save" folder before you do it.
Restart the server and it should work.
Example how the location information could look like:
[Area 500] // "ID" of the map
name = Cola's location // location name
size = 24 // size of the map
map_0 = Cola's location* 500 // the first location (you can add more locations)
visible = 1 //visible or not.
auto_garbage = 0 // I have no idea, just add it.
Example how the GenerateWorld could look like:
@ 500 975 1020 # Cola's location // ID X Y # Name of the map
Your map should be generated at the XY - 975 1020
You can go to your location directly by using the command:
~runscript debug testmap 0 500 0
(You have to give your self admin first // ~getadmin admin [password provided in FOnlineServer CFG file])
-
Cool, thanks for the answer!
(You have to give your self admin first // ~getadmin admin [password provided in FOnlineServer CFG file])
I guess everyone who plays since 2 months know that somehow, well thanks anyway ;D
-
Fallout 1 maps need to be converted first, obviously.
-
Fallout 1 maps need to be converted first, obviously.
yes :-\
-
I just starting using this for the mapper as the fonline mapper was giving me too much grief. But can anyone tell me how to create a new map? in the manual it says "!" is the command but that's not right as I get an "unknown command message".
-
Can't remember. But it is advised to rather load an existing map, like ~e_desert1, and then edit it to make it your own map. I did that for all my maps, it is really better than creating a new one from scratch.
-
Yup. Additionally, there's also the "*size x y " command to make the boundaries of a map bigger in case the first map was a bit too small for your needs etc.
-
thanks guys,
can you tell me if it's cool to use this for mapper for the current map comp?
-
I did all of the server layout and followed commands, the server works but I have a few questions
1. How do you use Mapper?
2. I gave myself admin, spawned a few items but, ~param commands dont work
please help for, I cant be admin at lvl 1.
-
i can send you tips later via pm if i will back from work.
-
I did all of the server layout and followed commands, the server works but I have a few questions
1. How do you use Mapper?
2. I gave myself admin, spawned a few items but, ~param commands dont work
please help for, I cant be admin at lvl 1.
1. Run and do something? Good tutorial you can find here (but in polish - use google translate) (http://forum.newfmc.pl/index.php?topic=47.0)
2. ~param somehow isn't working on some revisions, you can use "~run debug SetCritParam Critter_ID Param_Number Value"
For example: ~run debug SetCritParam 1 7 100
-
Bump for useful thread. Should be stickied.
-
Preparing Server:
I assume the download is finnished if you are reading this step.
1.First go to the folder you just made and execute SvnClear.
i'm new so quick question... SVN Clear... where do i find this... inside my SVN Client? or inside 'My Computer' when i right click on the folder.... i can't see it anywhere, and wondering if it might be called something different on Smart SVN... do you mean clearing the auth-cache?
thankyou though, this post is a godsend :P
-
SvnClear was a batch file to remove TortoiseSvn data directories (.svn) from all subdirs. As it was changed in newer versions - .svn directory is only in top level dir - it became obsolete and was removed.
Note that this is first SDK-related thread on this forum (and it includes its previous instance on fonline2238.net) ever made, so there may be more outdated info.
-
I will update both tutorials in 1 or 2 days. I'm a little busy now. I think I will bring them to PDF too.
-
Tutorial updated. PDF with more info is coming soon.