Author Topic: What scripting language to start with?  (Read 3060 times)

What scripting language to start with?
« on: May 19, 2014, 12:45:06 pm »
So, since there are no real tutorials for FOnline scripting basics, or even AngelScript basics, what would be the best programming language to try and get familiar with to start understanding how to script for the FOnline engine? I'm asking because I'm assuming the more well known languages have much better tutorials for absolute beginners like myself.

Maybe someday someone will make tutorials specifically for the FOnline engine, but I doubt it given the (strange) lack of interest in FOnline.

Offline Lexx

• Rotator
  • Mexican Apple Thief
Re: What scripting language to start with?
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2014, 02:20:06 pm »
FOnline uses AngelScript, so I'll guess if you want to do something with FOnline, then AngelScript would be the way to go, right from the start. :>

If you want to start with something super simple, you could also try something like Excel VBA or Basic or something like this for the first few steps and then go to AngelScript.
« Last Edit: May 19, 2014, 02:21:48 pm by Lexx »

« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2014, 02:30:07 pm »
Well the problem with AngelScript is I can't find any tutorial that explains things for a newcomer to programming, so I can't even get started. For example:
void main()
  {
    print("Hello world\n");
  }